When they were babies we waited patiently for a word to fall out of their mouth. Each new word and sentence was cherished and repeated between us and to grandparents and uncles/aunts. Now, as premature adults I am always wondering what question they are going to ask next? What new things are they going to learn from outside of my overprotective cling wrap?

My elder one came back from grade 1 with the f-word (to our great shock). Some kids in class were calling each other and apparently the teacher told them it is a bad word that is never to be used.

Mom, I didn’t understand anything so I went and asked Ryan(the smallest and cutest boy in the class) what it means. He explained everything very nicely to me!

A stab in my heart..

After a minute of recovery time I ask him, So what did he tell you?

He just said it means the backside or shit or something like that.

What a relief!

……………………………………………………………………

Mom: Dear why don’t you add another sentence to the speech that you have written.

6 year old: But Mom, I have already put a full stop!

………………………………………………………….

6 year old at dinner table: Mom, why bother to make Paneer (Indian cottage cheese) when it has no taste.

…………………………………………………………

Boy at 8 years comes back from school and excitedly says Mom Dad do you know that MJ was gay? Conservative parents loot at him in shock and with ask with a racing heart. Son, what does that mean? Oh don’t you know? It means that he looks like a girl!

Safe for the time being!!!

…………………………………………………………

