This is my third attempt with the sourdough starter that I got from my friend who left her batch with me while she went on a holiday.

The second attempt gave satisfactory results also.

“Jesslyn cakes” has this amazing bread they call the German Loaf. It is supposedly made of wheat and is loaded with walnuts, raisins, oats, sunflower seeds and sesame seeds. The loaf has just enough sweetness so as to be categorised as sweet bread but I guess it  is sweet because of the raisins. I fell so much in love with it that I bought and ate 3 loaves in a week!

This is the result from my attempt at making the German Loaf

I can say that it looks a lot like the original but the taste was not quite there. I found the bread too sour and chewy. The toughness I know is from the half a cup of Atta flour that was added. I have so far not had success with bread so long as I used Atta in any proportion. From my research I realise that I need to add gluten flour if whole wheat is used to make bread.

Next project is to somehow find gluten flour in this city.

