I mentioned earlier about Sourdough starter, about a batch someone left with me to nurture while she was away. She was kind enough let me keep a part for myself but after few weeks I realised it was too little…and I decided to make a starter for myself.  A little research and searching led me to my own bookshelf and my most used bread recipe book!

This recipe is slightly different from those I have seen online in the fact that it uses milk instead of water. I was a little afraid of the health aspects of leaving milk outside to ferment but I figured it would just turn to curd and that’s it!

The new batch was added to the existing 1 cup from my friend leaving me with a decent amount. This mixture looks and feels and behaves just like the other batch so I guess I did something right.

Here is the recipe as it is given in my book:

1 tsp active dry yeast

¼ cup warm water

¾ cup milk

1 cup all purpose flour

Dissolve yeast in warm water in a large mixing bowl. Stir in milk. Gradually stir in flour . Beat until smooth. Cover with towel or cheesecloth; let stand in warm draft- free place (80 to 85 degrees ) until starter begins to ferment, about 24 hrs (bubbles start to appear on surface of starter). If starter has not begun fermentation after 24 hrs, discard and begin again.

If fermentation has begun, stir well; cover tightly with plastic wrap and return to warm place. Let stand until  foamy, 2 to 3 days.  Once foamy , stir well; pour into a glass jar with a tight fitting cover and store in refrigerator.  When a clear liquid has risen to the top starter is ready to use, stir before using. Use 1 cup starter in a recipe ; To remaining starter add ¾ cup milk and ¾ cup flour and leave uncovered at room temperature until bubbles appear, about 12 hours: refrigerate.

Use starter regularly. If bread volume decrease, dissolve 1 tsp active dry yeast  in ¼ cup warm water, 1.2 cup milk and ¾ cup flour to the remaining starter.

This is the recipe word for word as it is given in my book. I made my starter this way too. The only change I have made is that to the weekly addition I add water instead of flour, sometimes throwing in a generous pinch of sugar.

 

