Tags

, ,

Last night dear A came home at 7:30 and tells me to get dinner quickly coz we have to go for a movie at 8:30.  I was tired (Wednesday being my marathon day) and wanted to sleep but also didn’t want to play spoilsport at such rare moments.

We are not into Hindi movies but I was indeed curious about “The Dirty Picture”, the story having been based on the life of Silk Smitha. The South Indian sex siren in her glory days set ablaze both the screen and theater seats with her moaning and grinding and her voluptuousness.  I found “The Dirty Picture” to be slow-moving, having too many characters and scenes to the point where the story seemed confusing (the fact that I slept off during some dance sequences could be a reason). However, the dialogues packed a punch with plenty of humour thrown in.

Vidya Balan gave a stunning performance, and is sure to bag a few awards with this movie. Towards the end of the movie she looked so much like the Silk whom I have seen in some Malayalam movies. Vidya transforms on screen from a dull, dark skinned nobody to a stunning, sought after film actress and back to a fat, drunken, bags-under-her-eyes fallen star.

Vidya has put on a lot of excess Kilos for this role. I must give credit  to her professionalism and confidence in wearing skimpy clothes on a body like that. I came back with a smile on my face seeing Vidya Balan in my body. I hope the movie is a hit and big tummies become the latest fad so I can stop worrying about calorie intake!

