Tags

, ,

I was asked to make a cake for a retired Chief Post Master General who had recently won an award. Looking for an innovative idea I decided that the best way to congratulate her was by sending her a postcard.

 

IMG_7719 IMG_7721

IMG_7722

Here I am attaching an image of the Indian postcard that I am sure will fill most of us with nostalgia. These postcards were the cheapest and fastest mode of communication in the days before email and mobile phones. I wonder if these still exist. I should remember to check that and try to send one to the kids and probably a love note to the hubby too…

Though I tried to copy the postcard exactly I had to omit the Hindi text as I was not confident of piping in Hindi. I have used a vanilla cake with butter cream frosting and the lettering done with Royal Icing.

postcard

 

